top of page
Welcome to Davin's Story

This is the story of our little Davin. He was and is our firstborn little baby boy, and was and continues to be loved with all of our hearts. He is our little butterfly baby, who is living out his days in Jesus's arms.

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

9. Let me be singing when the evening comes

Over the next several hours, and for the rest of the night we got to hold and cuddle little Davin. It was surreal holding him in our arms. It seemed like this moment had been so far off, and then it just came and went so quickly. Even though we had tried to plan, and we had one idea of how Davin's birth would go, God planned it out so much better. I am so thankful that we did not have to pick Davin's birth date. He was able to be born in Wisconsin, just like both of his parents were, in a place that has been so special to both Justin and I over the years. He was able to meet almost his whole family. Both sets of grandparents, and his aunts and uncles were able to come and hold him, which would not have been possible unless he was born on that day.

The local minister was able to come in a pray with us, and baptized little Davin. He and the hospital staff were so kind, and caring and compassionate. They took amazing care of all of us, and helped make Davin's birth so special. They let Justin and his sister help take footprints of little Davin, they gave us a blanket and a hat to keep him warm. They made sure that even though Davin wasn't there with us any more, he was treated just as carefully and special as any other baby in that hospital. I am so grateful to them for those small acts of kindness.

 

He looked so much like Justin, and looked so perfect to me. Weighing 2 pounds and a little over a half an ounce and 9.5 inches long, he was a little peanut. He will forever be my first born little boy, and I am so thankful for all the memories and firsts that I was able to share with him. I am so blessed and thankful that I was able to be his mother, even for just a moment in time. He stole a piece of my heart with him that day that will be gone forever. There are difficult moments in life that leave scars on your heart, but loosing someone creates a hole, a piece that has permanently broken off. While my heart won't ever regrow that piece that Davin holds onto, it will scar and it will heal in its own way. And I am so looking forward to the day when I join him in heaven and Jesus can piece my heart back together again. Until then, I gladly give him that piece of me to hold on to.

bottom of page